Wrapping Uncounted

Monday the final page of A K Anderson’s Uncounted will go live. We have reached the last lines of the script I was given to work with. There are no more words. Originally I intended to post some concept sketches to generate interests for the final page but when I was loading the files I noticed that the first sketch was drawn back on April 18th. Wow, seven months ago. For a Writer/Artist, that is a long time to be playing in someone else’s sandbox. This was also my first time working from someone else’s script. I couldn’t change the rules or make it up as I went along. This also meant meeting someone else’s deadline. I grew to feel that in some way Uncounted was mine too but it’s time to hand the baby back over to the parent. I can’t play in the sandbox that I grew familiar with anymore. At some point, I may go into what I learned and took away from the whole experience. Tomorrow I will draw the final page of Uncounted and even though I will probably work all the way up until the final 6am posting deadline, I think I might just have to have to have a cigar and a glass of wine after I hit upload for this story for the last time.

Below are some of the first concept sketches. Click to Enlarge. I hope you enjoyed the story as much as I did drawing it.

uc1

uc2

uc3

uc4

uc5

2 thoughts on “Wrapping Uncounted

  1. If I weren’t going to be at work when you upload it, I’d do a long-distance toast on that one with you. I actually have a post going up on Tuesday with some of my lessons learned from the effort. Thank you for working with me, this was the first of this sort of collaboration I’ve ever done, as well. I feel like I’ve emerged a better storyteller.

    I think that this story really is as much yours as it is mine.

    • You’re welcome and thank you as well. I learned a lot from our collaboration and I was honored that you trusted me with your story. Thank you for sharing it with us on the End of Times comic.

      I’ll take him on even days and every other weekend.

Leave a comment